Shimmering Stars

“How come I don’t like anyone I meet?”

It’s not like these guys need any more hits on Hype Machine, but there are in fact so good that I am more than happy to add to the buzz.  Vancouver’s Shimmering Stars play the most bizarre mix of Beach Boys throwback and Joy Division melancholia.  Jangly indie-pop tracks couple with dark, if not altogether cryptic (case in point: “I’m Gonna Try”), lyrics as the band blends polar opposites to an interesting and enjoyable effect.  Little info has been circulated on the band, but I do know that they were lucky enough to play a couple of shows at SXSW this month. News on upcoming releases to follow…if I ever hear of any. Head to Bandcamp to hear more.

Shimmering Stars – I’m Gonna Try
Shimmering Stars – Atmosphere (Joy Division cover)

more info…
Myspace
Bandcamp

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment