Jay Jay Pistolet (of the Vaccines)

“We both got our problems, got our demons and ghosts.”

No idea. I had no idea until he popped up as an alumnus interview on the King’s College London front page and I recognized the face of Justin Young, who currently shares vocal duties for the Vaccines. It was just a routine visit to check my e-mail. Not sure how the singer of 2011’s buzziest of all buzzy bands failed to register with me as the lost but not forgotten Jay Jay Pistolet – a one-man folk act that I used to listen to with such reverence.  I had even seen him support Thom Stone in the wonderfully dingy Water Rats nearly 4 years ago. Listen to some old demos/EP tracks below – interesting to see how the lo-fi folk sound he developed in his early actually translate quite well (and I say this with only a hint of sarcasm…) to his new endeavor.

Jay Jay Pistolet – Golden Age (demo)
Jay Jay Pistolet – You’re The One I Think I Like The Most

more info…
Myspace
Purchase
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

