Mike Dunn & the Kings of New England

“How much longer do we have to wait?”

Mike – you were made for the radio. Mike Dunn & the Kings of New England write smart, country tinged, pop-radio anthems. Though the music speaks for itself, the band looks great on paper as well. Let me explain… after simply reading that Dunn and his crew cite influences such as Rhett Miller, Springsteen and hometown heroes (and personal favorites) the Replacements – I knew we were going to do well together. Naturally, I’m usually pretty skeptical about self-written band bios. For example, they describe their sound as “…music that is distinctly American and distinctly part of an emerging crew of honest rock n’ roll bands from their area…” However, this time, I can’t help but agree. Although I have yet to hear to the band’s new disc in its entirety, The Edge of America, I’ve got big eyes (or ears, right?) for this Orlando-based band.

Mike Dunn & the Kings of New England – The Queen
Mike Dunn & the Kings of New England – Paper Candy

more info…
Myspace
Purchase available through myspace

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Mike Dunn & the Kings of New England

  1. One of the few bands I’ve heard in a long time that have “it.” Wait until you hear the record that’s coming out in 2009….audio ecstacy!!!

  2. Anonymous

    I love your music. Reminds me of some early Ryan Adams, keep it up fellas.

  3. Daniel Anderson

    Hey, this is Daniel Anderson. I’m the drummer from The Kings of New England. I happened upon this blog after a google search for my band’s name. I wanted to write and say thanks for the great review! We are on our way up to your area in June! We should have all our tour dates posted within the next few weeks. You can order ‘The Edge of America’ EP online… visit our myspace page for more info. Thanks again! I hope to see you soon.

  4. Anonymous

    All I know is that Mike has one of the coolest artist photos I have ever seen. It looks exactly like something I would do 🙂

  5. jeffro

    definitely liking his sound – good pick!

Leave a Reply

