this feels familiar

So I’ve been out of the blogging loop for a bit, but alas I’ve returned. Taking a short break from posting allowed me to focus more on my music, as well as my studies. Now that I’ve maintained a grasp on everything, I’m here to post some tunes I think you might find delightful. I’m honored to be able to contribute to CPMU and I hope that you guys enjoy my recommendations.

Lately, I’ve been trying to listen to all my songs on my iPod through the shuffle feature. I’m currently at 41 out of 5234, so I’ve got a ways to go. What’s fun about it is that I hear songs that I rarely listen to, or haven’t even heard. Other times I come across gems and hits that I should’ve paid attention to.

I’m sure you’ve heard The Doors, Yardbirds, and Blondie tracks before and if so, they’re always good to revisit them. Blondie’s Greatest Hits was on heavy rotation last week for me; they have some amazing basslines. I first heard “Girl, Why’d You Run Away?” on a Reggie And The Full Effect album and I thought it had a nice pop hook. In this acoustic rendition, Matt Pryor makes it soft and mellow. Be sure to nab their latest album (it’s free for download) on The New Ams website. The Cabine C track hails from a post-punk band (around ’86 or ’87) in Brazil. I found out about them through Fellini, and though both are quite similar, Cabine C often rely on darker tones ala Joy Division. If you know me, you should know that I love Orange Juice (they’re easily one of my favorite bands ever) and I thought you guys should listen to one of their tracks for my introduction.

And if you haven’t already, be sure to listen to the new Stills song. I’m anticipating their new album furiously.

• The New Amsterdams – “Girl, Why’d You Run Away
• Franz Ferdinand – “Come Home
• The Yardbirds – “I’m A Man
• French Kicks – “Right In Time
• The Doors – “Light My Fire
• The Stills – “In The Beginning
• Cabine C – “Tão Perto
• Orange Juice – “Poor Old Soul Part One
• Blondie – “Atomic

I’m looking to feature live videos, as well as live audio, so if you’re interested in that, I’m going to bring something new to the table. Noisepop is coming around by the end of the month, so something may arise (no promises though, but I’m pretty sure I’ll have something to showcase).

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “this feels familiar

  1. Steve

    Great first post on CPMU Marc!

  2. marc

    Thanks for the warm welcome guys. I’m excited to post more and learn what you folks like or don’t like.

  3. Dance Hall Hips

    the answer is yes it is.

  4. Dance Hall Hips

    i haven’t listened to it yet, but is the New Amsterdams song a Reggie and the Full Effect remake. Cuz i know Reggie and NA’s are just side projects of the get up kids. i dunno. we’ll see. lemme listen away. i spose just listening will answer my question.

  5. Cameron

    Marc, glad to see you back in action. Welcome back to the scene.

  6. Cameron

    Im diggin the new top. Looks fun, who is that?

  7. Lizzy

    marc is freaking awesome

Leave a Reply

