Long-View

These boys have big shoes to fill. Manchester, also the home of greats like the Smiths and the Stone Roses, brings you new band Longview as well. Let me say one thing, Long-View has no trouble filling these shoes. I say this about almost every band I post, but I have never meant it more than now…I can’t say enough about this band. Signed to Columbia Records here in the states, and rightfully so, the band still hasn’t really been able to leave it’s mark. Poor marketing, bad tours? Who knows. But one thing is for sure, it’s not the music that is holding this band back. Rob McVey’s vocals teamed with his band’s instrumention is a beautfiful combination. The music is so ethereal, engaging and downright incredible that you all need to take notice. I decided to post the song “I Would” because it really is one of the most beautiful songs I have ever heard. Also, I’ve got two acoustic tracks that the band recorded for FUSE. Anyways, I must tell you one thing. The acoustic tracks are indeed a special treat, but don’t do the band justice. They don’t get across the HUGE sound this band is able to create on their debut album “Mercury.” So, as most of the other things I post, I highly suggest you get your hands on some more tracks (buy the disc, iTunes), you will not be disappointed. As of now, the band isn’t touring, but if they happen to tour near you anytime soon, please go. I’ve seen the band live and they are capable of recreating quite beautifully this HUGE sound I’ve been blowing about.

I Would
Can’t Explain (acoustic)
When You Sleep (acoustic)

more info…
Official Site
Myspace

please, let me know what you guys think. Want me to post more bands like this?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Long-View

  1. Anonymous

    This is the first post on a blog that i’ve seen on these guys pretty much ever, and i’ve been skimming lots o blogs for a long while now! hooray for you (honestly)! i’ve had this disc ever since it came out, and it is fantastic. for me it is one of those records that i NEVER get sick of. i can’t understand why these guys aren’t huge yet? i saw them live in little ol’ salt lake city at a small venue that could hold about 150 people, unfortunately only 20 actually showed up to support. even with a tiny audience, they still played like they were in front of thousands of people! definitely one of the best shows i’ve been to. their concert was just as good as when i saw morrissey, cure, ray charles, and the list could go on. sorry this comment is so long, but i just can’t say enough about long-view. after the concert they stayed and talked with the crowd, and luckily i got to talk to them for a coupel minutes. they were extremely kind and i still can’t believe they came to salt lake city!thanks for those acoustic tracks and great blog. and please post more bands like long-view!

  2. Rhiannon

    You are wise beyond your years Miss Liz!! Seriously, I’m still obsessed with “I would” 🙂 Beautiful beautiful song! Awesome blog by the way. I love hearing about new bands. Keep it up!

  3. chip

    I saw Long-View in Austin, Tx at last year’s SXSW festival. The venue was too small, there were too many people there, etc., etc. so I didn’t get a good impression of them live but I <>do<> love <>Mercury<>. Great CD, in fact it’s in my car CD player right now.

  4. Lizzy

    bummer Chip. see them again if you can. they really are great live.

Leave a Reply

